Posted by: Jonjon | July 21, 2009

Asian – Taiwanese Turnip Cake米製客家蘿蔔糕9/10 but can’t get it to stick March 24 2009


SNC00231

http://blog.xuite.net/jane7443/bake/10428346

3000g turnip + 350g of water to 1000g of rice + 600g of water

If turnip plus water, then, 1 turnip : 0.47 rice water, or simply 1:0.5

If turnip without water, then 1 turnip : 0.53 rice water

Percentage without water =  60% turnip to 40% rice water

Ingredients

Rice flour 1 kilogram to 3 kilogram turnip

I used 300g turnip so should be 100g of rice flour (after soaking I only got 70g of rice flour)

So I need to add 60g of water to the rice.

So I need to add 35g of water to the turnip  or not..

I used one teaspoon and a bit of salt, which was about right. And 5 shakes of white pepper. Perfect. Btw, second time I made it, I measured the pepper powder. I think ¼ teaspoon should be right.

材料:

1.在來米1斤,洗淨泡水隔夜,瀝乾水分,得重755g

2.泡過水的米加600克的水入果汁機或料理機打成米漿….盡量打細後備用。

(先用400g的水加入米中打成濃稠米漿,預留200g的水來稀釋果汁杯裡殘餘的米漿)

3.白蘿蔔3斤去皮刨絲,加水350克,

入鍋悶煮約20分鐘, 至蘿蔔軟爛。

4.將米漿倒入炒菜鍋中(用炒鍋較易操作,不易炒焦),

加入步驟3之蘿蔔與蘿蔔湯汁,

並以鹽巴約2t-3t和白胡椒約1t-2t調味,

(依各家喜好自行斟酌,加入米糊中一同拌勻。)

小火不停翻拌,直到米漿變成米糊,

再拌至成為炒不動的米糰,即可填入模中 ,表面用飯匙或刮刀抹些食用油(抹油的用意為防沾)抹平

5.入蒸籠或電鍋蒸1個小時。

可用筷子刺探中心點仍會沾少許米糊,

如果試吃沒有生粉味….就是熟了

6.待涼脫模,即可切塊煎香,食用時可沾客家桔醬,

我家最喜歡沾醬油配青蒜末,口感極佳。

(成品照片灑的是青蒜末,旁邊小碟裡是新埔買的客家桔醬)

連我這河洛人都愛這客家菜頭粄的清香,其平淡中自有真味,

我個人反而不喜歡加料過多的廣式蘿蔔糕。

Conclusion

I should have put in more rice to blend. I noticed that I had grains in the blender. I couldn’t get it to blend it into a fine paste, I have no idea why. When I was stirring the mixture of turnip and rice water in the pot, I couldn’t get it to a solid state. What I got was quite sticky mass. After putting it into the steamer, it came out..well…a bit stuck together after cooling down. However, it became just like a thick porridge. I used one teaspoon and a bit of salt, which was about right. And 5 shakes of white pepper. Perfect.

The taste was amazing, but couldn’t get them to stick together like a cake.

Conclusion 2

This time I used the right amount of rice which was about 100g. However, still became quite porridgy, but this time it was ..less porridgy. I am thinking that it is the water from the turnip that is making it this way. Anyways, After frying it it became nicer.

Leave a Reply

Categories

