Posted by: Jonjon | July 21, 2009

Asian – Filling – Black Sesame Filling 制汤圆馅8.5/10, does the trick but quite expensive February 16 2009


SNC00981

http://lixuanhealth.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!67A8D242222A4452!2269.entry

2、制汤圆馅:50% sesame and 50% sugar in total plus little bit of olive oil

or  28% butter or lard and 47% black sesame and 23 % castor sugar in total.

取100g上好的黑芝麻,放入平底锅中,用小火耐心翻炒,待听到锅中的黑芝麻发出“啪啪”声,且能闻到明显的芝麻清香时,黑芝麻就算炒好了。

将黑芝麻倒在案板上摊开,再稍稍放凉,接着用擀面杖擀压成黑芝麻碎,或放入打碎机中搅打成黑芝麻碎。

把黑芝麻碎、

少量橄榄油和

绵白糖(100g)放入大碗中,戴上卫生手套,用手不断地搅拌抓攥,使3种馅料充分揉和在一起,形成一整块,将黑芝麻馅料用手均分成若干份,每份约10g重,再用手搓成小圆球。

Conclusion

Umm, this worked. I tried to fry sesame seeds, but couldn’t get them to pop at low heat. I tried high heat and they popped but they overcooked at the same time. Confused, I checked the Japanese label for these sesame seeds and apparently these were already cooked, and all I needed to do was to just grind them.

Anywyas, I used about 10 grams of black sesame seeds to 10 grams of icing sugar since that was all I had left after I wasted my batch of sesame seeds.

I had to add around half a teaspoon or more of olive oil in order to hold them together. It was as good as the ones that you get outside, but lacking the rich flavor of lard.

I also used chocolate and rosemary, and they were quite fragrant. As usual, I puked as soon I took a bite and had a taste.

I was scared that I was filling the dumplings a bit too thin, but I wasn’t. In the end, I should have made the skin thinner than I should have, even though it had seemed hard at the time, it wasn’t. It was easy to amend mistake…you just patch a skin on and then roll it between your hands until it’s smooth. By the way, I let the water boil twice until these dumplings surfaced, then put them in cold water. The water wasn’t cold enough…so dumplings didn’t taste chewy. However, after putting them in the freezer, they were pretty chewy.

Leave a Reply

Categories

