Posted by: Jonjon | July 20, 2009

Asian – Soup Balls湯圓 9/10 because it worked February 16 2009


http://www.yeqiang.com/archives/2004_03_24_archive.html

以體積作比例,糯米粉5、米粉1、溫水2.5,揉合。

水還略微嫌少,可以少量用手“甩水”調節,逐次。直到麵糰柔軟程度自己滿意。

一般不要事先將劑子都準備好。不象餃子麵團﹐糯米粉麵糰很容易乾﹐而且乾了很不好包。所以現揪現做。

()

水寬一些﹐滾了之後下鍋。剛下鍋就要在鍋底掏一下﹐防止黏底。
燒滾之後﹐湯糰會浮到表面上了。這個時候轉成小火。
小火繼續燒6-8分鐘。覺得小火不好掌控的話﹐可以用點冷水的辦法。

1) 揉麵團的時候﹐熱水成份越多﹐越好包﹔冷水成份越多越難包﹐但煮出來好吃。溫水當然就是一種折中的。
2) 包的難度克服之後﹐其實“煮”是很講究的。一定不能用大火﹐否則湯糰沖得很大﹐而且表面爛乎乎的。小火才能煮得緊緊糯糯﹐表面光溜溜。

From Video at

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l7cz9UY2jI4

125% water to glutinous rice flour

For 16 dumplings use 160g of glutinous rice flour so each one is 10g.

Filling should also be 10g

Pour ice cold water, around 200 – 250g of water

Have to let it rest a bit

For filling you can use chopped up rosemary (no stem just the leaves) with chocolate

You need to boil for 5 – 15 minutes until it bloats up. It actually will float up. And then wait for a little bit more, adding cold water if the water starts boiling very vehemently. Actually you have to wait for the second boil to happen. And then put it in cold water so it holds shape and won’t stick to teeth.

Conclusion

Yeah, it worked.

Anywyas, for the filling I used about 10 grams of black sesame seeds to 10 grams of icing sugar since that was all I had left after I wasted my batch of sesame seeds. My sesame seeds were already cooked. Not knowing this, I cooked them a second time and it burnt them. Anyways to make a black sesame filling, you combine grinded sesame seeds with the same amount of icing sugar.

Then I had to add around half a teaspoon or more of olive oil in order to hold them together. It was as good as the ones that you get outside, but lacking the rich flavor of lard.

I also used chocolate and rosemary, and they were quite fragrant.

I was scared that I had filled the dumplings a bit too thin, but I wasn’t. In the end, I should have made the skin thinner than I should have, even though it had seemed hard at the time, it wasn’t. It was easy to amend mistake…you just patch a skin on and then roll it between your hands until it’s smooth. By the way, I let the water boil twice until these dumplings surfaced, then put them in cold water. The water wasn’t cold enough…so dumplings didn’t taste chewy. However, after putting them in the freezer, they were pretty chewy.

By the way, You don’t need that much water as prescribed. I added just a bit more water after it had formed a dough.

Leave a Reply

Categories

