Posted by: Jonjon | March 15, 2009

Asian – Green Pea Cookies 8.5/10



Asian – Green Pea Cookies 8.5/10

March 13 2009


http://mykitch3n.blogspot.com/2009/01/cnyb-part-ii-green-peas-cookies.html

Ingredients:
120 gm green peas, snack type (grinded) 30g
100 gm icing sugar 25g
¼ tsp salt 1/16 salt
180 gm plain flour 45g
100 gm vegetable oil 25g

Glazing: 1 egg yolk
½ tbsp milk

Methods:
1. In a large mixing bowl, bring together all ingredients and mix until a dough is formed.
2. Roll out dough between two sheets of plastic, about 1cm in thickness.
3. Cut dough with cookies cutter and place onto baking tray lined with baking paper.
4. Glaze with egg yolk mixture.
5. Bake in the preheated oven at 170ºC for about 15 mins or until the surface is browned.
6. Cool completely on rack before storing.

Conclusion
I really like green pea cookies. I noticed that last time (making the almond cookies) I perhaps overcooked it, that’s how the bitter taste was brought. I had suspected that it was the low quality of the green pea flours…because the last batch that I used had a funny smell, and the green pea that I brought this week from the store didn’t have a smell to it. However, it was not because of this that caused the bitterness, it was the overcooking it until it’s maximum crunchiness. I left some in the oven to cook for 10 more minutes and these one turned out to be bitter. Anyways, the ones with the egg wash on top made the whole biscuit very asian and taste like a sweet non-cloying biscuit that I really liked. Actually, I should have taken them out after 15 minutes rather than 16 minutes. Because I noticed that the ones that weren’t cooked so much on the inside (which made them crunchy) had a flaky texture that I liked. These flakey texture didn’t stick to each other, and they kinda just fall off, and when you bite into them they tasted pasty which was the way I liked them. Shouldn’t have added more egg or oil to them. I just didn’t have any cookie compressor at the time so I needed something to hold them together.

Leave a Reply

Categories

