Posted by: Jonjon | March 11, 2009

Financiers 9.5/10





Financiers 9.5/10
08/03/09


http://lacerise.blogspot.com/2007/04/financiers.html

Ingredients
– 330g de confectioners sugar 82.5g
– 120g ground almonds (I ground whole almonds together with a few tablespoons of the sugar so that they wouldn’t get oily) 31g
– 30g honey (Fred recommends “miel d’acacia”, I used whatever I had on hand) 8g
– 125g flour 31g
– 3g (a little over 1/2 tspn) baking powder 1/8 teaspoon
– 180g butter 45g
– 340g egg whites (about 9-10. I think you can get away with a little less) 85g
– 20g eau de vie de framboise (I skipped this) 5g
– A few fresh or frozen raspberries (optional. I used frozen raspberries, without defrosting them)

Method

1- Preheat your oven to 220°C. Carefully butter the molds you will be using with a brush and melted butter.
2- Sift the confectioners sugar. Add the ground almonds and whisk together.
3- Sift the flour and the baking powder. Add to the sugar and nuts and stir.
4- Prepare the “beurre noisette” (or burnt butter, or hazelnut butter…). Boil the butter until the foam subsides and the butter smells of hazelnuts. While you want to make sure you don’t burn the butter too much, don’t be too shy either, the caramel flavor of toasted butter is the best part of the financiers. I left mine to cook until I saw grains of burnt butter residue at the bottom of my pot.
5- Pour the butter on the dry mixture and mix it carefully and thoroughly.
6- Add the honey and then the egg whites, gradually. Mix till smooth. Add the alcohol, if using.
7- Pour into the financiers forms (careful the mixture is very runny. I use a pastry bag or a plastic bag with a corner snipped off). If you wish, place a frozen or fresh raspberry on top of each. Don’t push the berry down into the batter, it’s better if the raspberry doesn’t come in contact with the mold as it makes the financier even stickier. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes. Depending on their size, watch carefully that they don’t become too brown, though a darkish brown is quite desirable in my opinion.

Let them cool down before eating them. As Fred recommends, they do improve as they cool off.

Conclusion
These tasted very light. There was a subtle egg smell but it was not strong enough to be sickening. I didn’t use the raspberry wine, and this turned out very well. 10 minutes – 12 minutes and it was done. It was very easy to make, and it was packed full of flavor. I boiled the butter, wondering how long I should boil it for. After 5-7 minutes of boiling, I noticed that the butter stopped to boil. I think this is what it means by “foam subsiding” I think that the water content has been pretty much evaporated. And 1 minutes later without stirring, I noticed dark granules on the bottom of the pan, which I think is the “burnt butter” I had a little taste of the butter, and it tasted sweet for some reason?
A very impressive recipe. By the way……after having these, my tongue tasted a bit sour. I suspected it was the egg or the burnt butter? My friend had the same reaction. I think it was the egg….because I had a similar sensation having a pancake that I had made out of eggs

Leave a Reply

Categories

