Posted by: Jonjon | February 19, 2009

Spiced Pumpkin Seeds Failed But second attempt worked yay! 8/10



Spiced Pumpkin Seeds Failed

January 29 2009
February 19 2009 8/10
http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Spiced-Pumpkin-Seeds/Detail.aspx

INGREDIENTS (Nutrition)
• 1 1/2 tablespoons margarine, melted 20g
• 1/2 teaspoon salt 3g
• 1/8 teaspoon garlic salt 0.7g
• 2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce 10ml
• 2 cups raw whole pumpkin seeds 130g

DIRECTIONS
1. Preheat oven to 275 degrees F (135 degrees C).
2. Combine the margarine, salt, garlic salt, Worcestershire sauce and pumpkin seeds. Mix thoroughly and place in shallow baking dish.
3. Bake for 1 hour, stirring occasionally.

Conclusion
Hmm, I used olive oil instead of butter. The seeds never got soft. Maybe the reason was that my oven was on for 175 degrees for the first 10 minutes which made the outer shell a bit hard and made heat more difficult to penetrate into the shell. But I don’t think that was the problem. I think I should have boiled the seeds first which was not suggested by the recipe. Anywyas, I will be trying this recipe again when I buy my next pumpkin.

Conclusion 2
Umm I took another reviewer’s advice and boiled the pumpkin seeds the day before with salted water to clean them for 20 minutes and then put in the oven today at 150 degrees for 30 minutes. It came out perfect. Umm, I actually didn’t fail the last time come to think about it. I’ve never really ate pumpkin seeds, so I did not know that you had to actually take the shell off so I tried to bake it until my shell was soft. This time I realized that you don’t eat the shells, so when I took the shells off, the pumpkin seeds inside was quite nice and crisp at 30 minutes. However, at 50 minutes, they started to become dry and lost quite a bit of their pumpkin seed taste, so 30 minutes was the best time.

Leave a Reply

Categories

