Posted by: Jonjon | February 19, 2009

Cheese – Paneer 8/10



Cheese – Paneer 8/10

February 19 2009
http://foodmusings.typepad.com/food_musings/2005/04/how_to_make_pan.html

Paneer
Yield: 1 1/2 cups

1/2 gallon whole milk
2 TBSP lemon juice

so 1800 cc to 2 tbsp of lemon juice

900cc to 1 tbspoon of lemon juice

Method

1. In a heavy saucepan, bring milk to a boil. (When it has reached full boil, it will look very foamy and quickly – QUICKLY, I say – rise in the pot. To avoid the ensuing mess, remove it from the heat right away.) Add lemon juice and stir until small curds separate from the whey, about 2-3 minutes.
2. Let sit 10 minutes so curds can develop, then drain into a collander lined with 2 layers of cheesecloth. When cool enough to handle, tie up opposite ends of the cheese cloth and squeeze out remaining liquid.
3. Place paneer, still in cheese cloth, on a plate. Flatten to 1/2″ thick and top with another plate. Rest something heavy on top (such as several cans or the Joy of Cooking) and let sit 20 minutes.
4. Pour off any liquid that remains and refrigerate overnight, or use immediately by cutting paneer into 1/2″ cubes and frying gently in oil, turning to brown each side.

Conclusion

Well, a good mark was given because it worked. Actually, I had to use a little bit more lemon juice than prescribed. I also brought this cheap “homebrand – Full Cream Milk” and it did not produce any curds when the lemon was put in! No wonder why it was so cheap. I used another brand called “meadowfresh” which was a well known brand, and I got curds straight away. I just added a little bit more lemon to separate a little bit more.

Well, I never liked paneer, and I don’t think I will. Maybe it will be good with a dish, so I will be trying to find some dishes to use it with paneer before it starts going foul.

By the way, even though I saw from the instruction that the milk will foam very quickly….I did not realise that when it did foam, it kinda sky rocketed and wow…lightening fast so next time I really have to pay attention to the boiling. The second time I put the lid on to increase the temperature quickly and then I lifted off when I felt that it was going to come to a boil and prepared. When it boiled I just took it off the heat and added lemon. You don’t need to have the pot continuly boiling for the milk to produce curds.

Leave a Reply

Categories

