Posted by: Jonjon | February 16, 2009

Honey Wheat Bread I 9/10







Honey Wheat Bread I 9/10

February 16 2009

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Honey-Wheat-Bread-I/Detail.aspx
1.2% yeast, 27% warm water, 72% evaporated milk, 9% shortening, 9% honey, to(36% whole wheat flour and 64% bread flour)
This bread had the same taste as Portuguese sweet bread I which was
58% milk, 12% eggs, 7% margarine, 15% white sugar, 2.4% yeast 1% salt to bread flour

INGREDIENTS (Nutrition)
• 1/4 (.25 ounce) package rapid rise yeast 2g
• 1/4 teaspoon white sugar 1g
• 2 tablespoons warm water (110 degrees F/45 degrees C) 30ml
• 1/4 (12 fluid ounce) can evaporated milk 118ml
• 1 tablespoon water 15ml
• 1 tablespoon melted shortening 15ml
• 1 tablespoon honey 15ml
• 1/2 teaspoon salt 3g
• 1/2 cup whole wheat flour 60g
• 3/4 cup bread flour 105g
• 1-1/2 teaspoons butter 7g

DIRECTIONS
This recipe’s Ingredients were scaled to yield a new amount. The directions below still refer to the original recipe yield of 2 – 9×5 inch loaves.
1. Dissolve yeast and sugar in 1/2 cup warm water.
2. Combine milk, 1/4 cup water, shortening, honey, salt and wheat flour in food processor or bowl. Mix in yeast mixture, and let rest 15 minutes. Add white flour, and process until dough forms a ball. Knead dough by processing an additional 80 seconds in food processor, or mix and knead by hand 10 minutes. Place the dough in a buttered bowl, and turn to coat. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap. Let dough rise for 45 minutes, or until almost doubled.
3. Punch down, and divide dough in half. Roll out each half, and pound out the bubbles. Form into loaves, and place in buttered 9×5 inch bread pans. Butter the tops of the dough, and cover loosely with plastic wrap. Let rise in a warm area until doubled; second rise should take about 30 minutes.
4. Place a small pan of water on the bottom shelf of the oven. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
5. Bake for 25 to 35 minutes, or until tops are dark golden brown. Butter crusts while warm. Slice when cool.

Conclusion
I baked this at 175 degrees to 180 degrees for most of the time for 40 minutes, and it worked perfectly. I didn’t want to bake it at such a high degree because I burnt the top of my bread last time. This time it was okay. I think it was because I buttered my top.
The bread turned out “perfectly” After slicing, it really looked like a bread. Wow. I was amazed that it worked. By the way, when I poured the melted shortening into the evaporated milk that I just took out of the fridge, it solidified immediately so it took me a while to actually mash them up into the mixture again.
This bread tasted so much like portuguesesweet bread I. Umm, I remembered that Portuguese sweet bread was sweeter. Anyways, this had a very nice texture. A nice chewy crust and nice chewy center that I used to dip into my butter chicken that had no chicken.

By the way…I kinda forgot how to fold the bread into a loaf, but I did what I felt was right at the time. I punched the bread to let the air out, but not too hard to compress the bread too flat. I didn’t split the dough in half, instead I just pulled it gently so it was quite long. Then I rolled it from one end to another (from the side that can give you the most folds) then I stretched the sides of the dough (only could do one side) down to seam it and tucked the fold on the bottom. I remembered that if I tighten the surface, then the yeast would be able to push up better.

Leave a Reply

Categories

