Posted by: Jonjon | February 14, 2009

Dragon Hair Candy or Dragon Beard Candy 龍鬚糖) 9/10



h


T
Dragon Hair Candy or Dragon Beard Candy 龍鬚糖) 9/10

February 13 2009

FROM VIDEO

100g maltose
1kg sugar
500ml water
1 Tsp White Vinegar
Apparently you have to dry the glutinous but not to brown it in a pan first.
Apparently you pour it into a plastic cup
Bring the water to a boil at around 133 degrees, slightly turn off heat before 132 celsius, let sugar syrup cool down to 100 degrees before pouring it into plastic cup. Sugar will harden when it cools down in an hour.

Conclusion
Wow, it actually works.
I tried 3 times and failed miserably, and I found the reason why. Because I quartered the portion, I ended up with less liquid. My thermometer was not accurate in detecting the right temperature because in order to do so it needed to be about 7cm deep into the liquid whilst I only had around 4cm of liquid. I tried it with a cup of hot water and it gave vastly different readings when the thermometer was plunged at different depths. So basically, the first two times I went to the hard crack stage instead of the soft crack, and the third time I went into the caramelisation stage. Thankfully I was smart enough to take samples of the liquid at differing temperatures, and it seems like the liquid that I took when my thermometer read 121 degrees worked. It was basically a malleable sugar dough. However, the others were hard, but with slight heat, they were malleable, however, when the temperature cooled down, they became brittle again, but I managed to pull quite a few 8’s before it went hard, and ended up with a very fine thread. So looked like it’s not that hard afterall.

However, will I try it again? I mean the taste was quite nice, but I’m not a big fan of candy. I will like to try it again because it was fun to pull on the candy to make thin threads, kinda like a game where you see how thin you can pull the threads into. However, I don’t think I will do that again. The candy made such a mess. It left cobweb-like invisible sugar trails that will eventually attract hungry ants. It was also hard to find a tray where I can pour the sugar on so it won’t stick on it. Plastic worked the best, but, umm, I wouldn’t want to keep on pouring 100 degree hot liquid onto plastic, as it will give out poisonous fumes.

Other Recipes

Ingredients
75 g fine white sugar
75 g peanuts
150 g corn syrup
glutinous rice flour (you are using it to coat the silk to prevent them from sticking to each other)

Directions
1. Bring corn syrup to boil over mild heat for 5 mins until thick.
2. Put into refrigerator for 4 hours.
3. Dig a hole in the middle of corn syrup& coat with glutinous rice flour.
4. Stretch along the hole, when it becomes a big ring and make it to 8 shape like 2 small rings and put 2 rings together.
5. Repeat till it like silk.
6. Finely ground the peanuts, mix it with sugar.
7. Cut the silk sugar into 6- 8 pieces, wrap it with peanut mixture.
8. Keep covered as it will clump once it is exposed to moisture.

Leave a Reply

Categories

