Posted by: Jonjon | February 10, 2009

Croquettes – Japanese Sweet Corn Croquettes 9.5/10





Croquettes – Japanese Sweet Corn Croquettes 9.5/10

February 10 2009

http://schneiderchen.de/162Japanese-Sweet-Corn-Croquettes.html

Ingredients
• 40 g Sweet corns
• 100 g Ground meat
• 2 tbsp Potato puree
• 2 tbsp Minced onion
• 1 Egg, beaten
• 15 g Flour
• 80 g Bread crumbs
Seasoning:
• 1 tsp Salt
• ¼ tsp White pepper powder
• 1 tbsp Sesame oil
• 1 tbsp Sugar
• 1 tbsp Corn starch • 40克 玉米粒

Method
1. Place the potato puree in a bowl, add in ground meat, onion and corns, flavoured with the seasoning. Mix all the ingredients until well combined.
2. Divide the mixture into 6 portions and shape them into a round with hands. Coat with flour, then egg, finally with bread crumbs. Flat them lightly with palm.
3. Heat up some oil and deep fry the cake until golden. Turn the heat to the high level and fry for one more minute. Drain the oil and serve.

Conclusion
Hmm I don’t think I’m that good with frying. I used a small pan and some oil and a thermometer. Everytime I put a food into my pan, the oil heats up by about 20 – 30 degrees. I always seem to finish cooking the food within 30 seconds because anytime after that it starts charcoaling..even though the temperature of the thermometer was lower than the prescribed amount. I think this had to do with my pan. But anyways, since most of the stuffs were cooked anywyas, I cooked the croquettes for about 1 minute – 2 minutes. Some crumbled. At first I thought potato puree meant fresh potato puree. When I realized that my ingredients were not sticking, I used potato flour instead and that worked. I put quite a bit of potato flour, maybe not enough to stick the potatoes together. I should have pressed the fillings in tightly with my hands but really couldn’t be bothered. Anyways the croquettes were the nicest croquettes that I have ever eaten. It was sweet, and had a white pepper flavor to it which was real nice. I would like to make this using the oven so it wouldn’t fall apart. I hate frying…because so much oil is involved. It’s dangerous and not very healthy, and when food falls apart in the fryer, the food will start to soak all the oil.

Leave a Reply

Categories

