Posted by: Jonjon | February 10, 2009

Asian – Pumpkin Fritters with maple syrup 8.5/10


Asian – Pumpkin Fritters with maple syrup 8.5/10

February 9 2009
http://schneiderchen.de/82Pumpkin-Fritters-Flavoured-With-Maple-Syrup.html

Ingredients
• 200 g Cooked mashed pumpkin
• 50 g All-purpose flour
• 1 tbsp Maple syrup or honey
• some Black and white sesame

Directions

1. Mix pumpkin puree with flour and maple syrup to make a soft ball.
2. Divide them into 10 portions, and shape each of them into a ball. Using the palm of your hand, press each piece into a flat pancake and coat with sesames.
3. Deep fry in hot oil over the medium heat until toasty brown. Serve hot.

Conclusion
I’ve always wanted to fry stuff, but never dared to because of the amount of oil wasted + the health risks. My mum recently just brought a litre of canola oil because she didn’t want me to waste her olive oil on my experiements. Fair is fair. Anyways, I learnt that when you fry, don’t put the lid on the pot! Because the water from the steam created by the heat will drip back down and create a lot of frightening noises.
Anyways, as this was my first time battering, I was scared that my batter was a bit too thin. So I added a bit more flour. I shouldn’t have done that, because the pumpkin fritters ended up tasting a bit floury and sticky throughout.
This tasted quite nice. I think anything fried tastes nice. I’ve always wondered what they put in the fried stuffs in the yum char restaurants to make them taste so nice, now I know, plenty of oil!!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

