Posted by: Jonjon | February 2, 2009

Dough – Noodle – Spinach Noodles




Dough – Noodle – Spinach Noodles

5/10 for preparation.

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Spinach-Noodles/Detail.aspx

INGREDIENTS
• 3/4 (10 ounce) package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed dry 215g
• 1-1/2 eggs 75g
• 3/4 teaspoon salt 5g
• 1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour 190g

DIRECTIONS
This recipe’s Ingredients were scaled to yield a new amount. The directions below still refer to the original recipe yield of 4 servings.
1. In a blender or food processor, combine spinach, eggs and salt; process until smooth. Pour into a bowl. Gradually add enough flour to make a firm, but not sticky, dough. On a floured surface, knead about 20 times. Wrap in plastic wrap and let rest 30 minutes. Divide dough in half. On a floured surface, roll each half to 1/.16-in. thickness. Roll up jelly-roll style and cut into 1/4-in. slices. Separate the slices and let rest on a clean towel for at least 1 hour. Cook noodles in boiling salted water until tender, about 15-20 minutes; drain.

Conclusion
Whilst I was measuring the 215g of spinach, I was surprised at the amount of spinach I had to use for this pasta. I thought I had read the recipe wrong, but I didn’t. After putting them into the food processor, only a few, perhaps less than a cup of spinach mixture came out. I forgot to squeeze the noodles dry completely, so I had to put an enormous amount of flour than required in order to form a firm and non-sticky dough. Doing that took away both the spinach flavor and the chewy texture from the eggs.
I really don’t like using the food processor to make foods, or to put it more accurately, I don’t like my food processor. It’s actually a meat mincer, and it always starts smoking when it is being put to work for more than 15 seconds. I don’t know. I don’t think it’s fair to give a score for the taste, but in terms of preparation I would score it quite low. I don’t like to wash extra dishes. Using a food processor means that I have to clean the blades, and the assembly too, which takes time and detergent.

Leave a Reply

Categories

