Posted by: Jonjon | January 31, 2009

Curry – Vegetable Curry (With apple juice) 8.5/10



Curry – Vegetable Curry (With apple juice) 8.5/10
January 31 2009

http://www.masterstech-home.com/The_Kitchen/Recipes/Household_Helper_Recipes/VegetableCurryMeal.html

VEGETABLE CURRY

(Serves 2)

1/2 pound eggplant, diced (2 cups)
1 pound zucchini, sliced (2 cups)
1/2 medium red pepper, sliced (1 cup)
2 teaspoons margarine or butter, divided
1 medium red onion sliced (2 cups)
2 medium cloves garlic crushed
1 1-inch piece of fresh ginger, chopped (1 tablespoon)
2 tablespoons flour
2 teaspoons ground cumin
1&1/2 tablespoons curry powder
1 cup apple juice
1/4 cup raisins
Salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

Directions

Wash eggplant and cut into 1/2-inch cubes. Wash zucchini and red pepper and slice.
Heat 1 teaspoon margarine in a nonstick skillet. Add onions and eggplant and saute 5
minutes. Add zucchini, red pepper and garlic; continue to saute 5 minutes. Add a
second teaspoon margarine. Add ginger, flour, cumin and curry. Toss well. Add apple
juice. Cook until thick, about 1 minute. Add raisins, salt and pepper to taste.

Conclusion I used long asian eggplants instead of the huge purple one so I left the skin on since it was not as hard as the huge plump eggplant variety.
This turned out better than I had thought. The apple juice really mixed in well with the spices. Suitable vegetables for this dish would be veges able to absorb liquid…thus the eggplant, red pepper were perfect, not to mention the zucchini. I only used 50% of the zucchini because that’s all I had, but next time I will use 100% of the amount because it was really good with the zucchini. I used carrots too, which didn’t work that well, but lentils blended in with this recipe perfectly.
However, this recipe had proportion problems. I would use 3 teaspoons of garlic paste, 1 and a 1/3 cup of apple juice since there were soo many vegetables inside and the eggplants needed some steaming with the lids close to make it softer. The raisins I would increase to 1/3 cup for the taste. I forgot to add the ginger, I guess I just didn’t care about the ginger that much, but I will add it next time to see what happened. You need actually 4 teaspoons of butter/ghee for this dish to work, because there were so many things in the pot that I had to eventually pour some oil in to prevent the veges from burning and getting stuck onto my pan.

By the way, I’d also add more red onions next time, they were nice

Leave a Reply

Categories

