Posted by: Jonjon | January 15, 2009

Cake – Cheesecake – Chantal’s Newyork CheeseCake 9/10





Cake – Cheesecake – Chantal’s Newyork CheeseCake 9/10

On January 15 2009

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Chantals-New-York-Cheesecake/Detail.aspx
INGREDIENTS (Nutrition)

• 2-1/2 graham crackers, crushed
• 1 teaspoon butter, melted 5g

• 2/3 (8 ounce) package cream cheese 150g
• 1/4 cup white sugar 50g
• 2 tablespoons milk 30ml
• 2/3 eggs
• 2 tablespoons and 2 teaspoons sour cream 40g
• 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract 3ml
• 2 teaspoons all-purpose flour 5g


DIRECTIONS
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a 9 inch springform pan.
2. In a medium bowl, mix graham cracker crumbs with melted butter. Press onto bottom of springform pan.
3. In a large bowl, mix cream cheese with sugar until smooth. Blend in milk, and then mix in the eggs one at a time, mixing just enough to incorporate. Mix in sour cream, vanilla and flour until smooth. Pour filling into prepared crust.
4. Bake in preheated oven for 1 hour. Turn the oven off, and let cake cool in oven with the door closed for 5 to 6 hours; this prevents cracking. Chill in refrigerator until serving.

Conclusion
Not being a fan of cheesecakes, this was the best cake that I have ever tasted. I encountered some problems unfortunately with the making of this cheesecake. My cheeseacake did not break, mainly because it was small. It was done in 30 minutes. I should have doubled the amount, because in the little circular tray that I used I only got like 1-2cm layer of the cheese cake, which was nearly as thick as my crust. The cheesecake had a full rich cheese and sour cream flavor. I was afraid that my graham crust would not be done, so I heated it beforehand, but now I realized that I didn’t need to. The 175 Degrees C was enough to get my graham crackers boiling. Because of the tray I used which had miniscule gaps in it, I had a bit of an oil (butter) leakage from the tray. However, the crust did not show any sign of being burnt. It was a perfect cheesecake. I was not sure when it will be done, so I did some research. Apparently a cheesecake will never appear to be done, and if it appears to be done, then it is being overbaked. A cheesecake will be done when it can wobble. I saw a bit of a browning, just a very little bit on the top of my cheesecake so I took it out of the oven in 30 minutes, and did not let it cool in the oven because I cared more about the taste rather than the appearance. Anyways, it did not crack, and tasted even more rich after being refrigerated, though I would have had it warm.

Leave a Reply

Categories

