Posted by: Jonjon | January 12, 2009

Pancakes Showdown 2!




Pancakes – Banana Pancakes 5/10

13/01/2009


http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Banana-Pancakes-I/Detail.aspx

INGREDIENTS (Nutrition)
• 1/3 cup all-purpose flour 40g
• 1 teaspoon white sugar 4g
• 3/4 teaspoon baking powder 2g
• 1/8 teaspoon salt 0.5g
• 1/3 egg, beaten
• 1/3 cup milk 80ml
• 2 teaspoons vegetable oil 10ml
• 2/3 ripe bananas, mashed

DIRECTIONS
This recipe’s Ingredients were scaled to yield a new amount. The directions below still refer to the original recipe yield of 12 pancakes.
1. Combine flour, white sugar, baking powder and salt. In a separate bowl, mix together egg, milk, vegetable oil and bananas.
2. Stir flour mixture into banana mixture; batter will be slightly lumpy.
3. Heat a lightly oiled griddle or frying pan over medium high heat. Pour or scoop the batter onto the griddle, using approximately 1/4 cup for each pancake. Cook until pancakes are golden brown on both sides; serve hot.
Conclusion
Umm, this one took quite a while to bake. I was not sure if my pancakes were too thick or my frying pan was not hot enough, or I added too much banana. Anyways, the end-product tasted disgusting. I’ve made banana breads before and they tasted very nice, but this one tasted like banana mashed in flour and cooked.

Pancakes – Best Buckwheat Pancakes 7/10 January 13 2009

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Best-Buckwheat-Pancakes/Detail.aspx

Other people’s reviews
Some people used whole wheat instead of all purpose flour
I used half yogurt and half milk. I also used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour. The result was a perfectly thick batter that created beautifully light and fluffy pancakes. Very tasty… thank you!
Oh my gosh! This recipe was the absolute best and I am a person who loves to try new recipes! I didn’t have buckwheat flour but had some whole buckwheat I guess you’d call it. I just threw it into my coffee grinder and the taste was nutty and my whole family loved it! The absolute best! A definite keeper.
INGREDIENTS (Nutrition)
• 1/2 cup buttermilk 120ml
• 1/2 egg 25g
• 1 tablespoon and 1-1/2 teaspoons butter, melted 20g
• 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour 25g
• 3 tablespoons buckwheat flour 25g
• 1/2 teaspoon white sugar 2g
• 1/4 teaspoon salt 2g
• 1/2 teaspoon baking soda 2g
• 1 tablespoon and 1-1/2 teaspoons butter 20g

DIRECTIONS
This recipe’s Ingredients were scaled to yield a new amount. The directions below still refer to the original recipe yield of 2 to 3 servings.
1. In a medium bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, egg, and melted butter.
2. In another bowl, mix together white flour, buckwheat flour, sugar, salt and baking soda. Pour the dry ingredients into the egg-mixture. Stir until the two mixtures are just incorporated.
3. Heat a griddle or large frying pan to medium-hot, and place 1 tablespoon of butter, margarine or oil into it. Let the butter melt before spooning the batter into the frying pan, form 4 inch pancakes out of the batter. Once bubbles form on the top of the pancakes, flip them over, and cook them on the other side for about 3 minutes. Continue with this process until all of the batter has been made into pancakes.

Conclusion
I did two variations
Variation 1 = Used buttermilk. The buttermilk grew stronger with every chew
Variation 2 = Used 1/2cup milk + 2 teaspoon of lemon. The pancake was more fragrant, and instant buttermilk lemony milk taste upon bite. I prefer this one as it was more flavorful. However, I think I’m allergic to buckwheat, because everytime I eat buckwheat I always get an uncomfortable salty feeling at the back of my throat.

Pancakes – Tasty Buckwheat Pancakes 5/10 13/01/2009

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Tasty-Buckwheat-Pancakes/Detail.aspx

INGREDIENTS (Nutrition)

* 3 tablespoons and 1/2 teaspoon whole wheat flour 25g
* 1 tablespoon and 1-3/4 teaspoons buckwheat flour 10g
* 1 tablespoon and 1-3/4 teaspoons all-purpose flour 10g
* 1 tablespoon and 1-3/4 teaspoons quick cooking oats 8g
* 1-1/4 teaspoons baking powder 6g
* 1/3 cup and 1 tablespoon skim milk 95ml
* 1 tablespoon and 1/2 teaspoon safflower oil 20ml
* 2-1/2 teaspoons honey 10ml
* 3/8 egg, lightly beaten

DIRECTIONS
This recipe’s Ingredients were scaled to yield a new amount. The directions below still refer to the original recipe yield of 10 pancakes.

1. In a large bowl, stir together wheat flour, buckwheat flour, all-purpose flour, oats, and baking powder. Stir in milk, oil, honey, and egg.
2. Heat a lightly oiled griddle or frying pan over medium heat. Pour or scoop the batter onto the griddle, using approximately 1/4 cup for each pancake. Brown on both sides, and serve hot.

Conclusion
The many liquids to flour of this recipe made the inside of the pancakes quite watery and soggy. I didn’t like the honey which made it quite sweet. I didn’t like it, and there was too much work to get all the ingredients.

Learnt
Apparently if you let the batter sit overnight, your pancakes will become fluffy
You can always substitute oil for applesauce
By the way, my pancakes look pretty old and saggy, I guess it was because I didn’t blend my ingredients well. When I poured the buttermilk into melted butter, some butter solidified. I should have used a machine to blend instead of my hand to get a smoother batter.

Leave a Reply

Categories

