Posted by: Jonjon | January 10, 2009

Macaroons – Farm Macaroons 9/10 though I won’t make it again because it was too sweet 10/01/2009



Macaroons – Farm Macaroons 9/10 though I won’t make it again because it was too sweet 10/01/2009 http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Farm-Macaroons/Detail.aspx

INGREDIENTS (Nutrition)
• 1/2 egg whites
• 1/8 teaspoon vanilla extract 0.3ml
• 1/8 teaspoon almond extract 0.2ml
• 1/8 teaspoon cream of tartar
• 2 tablespoons and 1-1/2 teaspoons white sugar 30g
• 1-1/2 teaspoons all-purpose flour 4g
• 1/8 teaspoon salt 0.2g
• 1/4 cup and 1 tablespoon flaked coconut 25g

DIRECTIONS
This recipe’s Ingredients were scaled to yield a new amount. The directions below still refer to the original recipe yield of 4 dozen.
1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees F (150 degrees C). Grease and flour cookie sheet.
2. In a medium bowl, beat egg whites, vanilla extract, almond extract, and cream of tartar until soft peaks form. Gradually beat in sugar, and whip until stiff. Toss together flour, salt, and coconut in a separate bowl; fold into egg whites. Drop by heaping tablespoonfuls onto the prepared cookie sheet.
3. Bake 18 to 20 minutes in the preheated oven, or until slightly golden. Allow cookies to cool on the baking sheet for easy removal.

Conclusion
Well, I tried whipping the egg whites by hand. It wasn’t until the 30th minute I realized that I forgot to add the sugar, which kinda explained why nothing was happening. By the way, my egg whites did foam, and my arms did get a bit sore. But other than that, I think what it means for the egg whites to be beaten stiff is to make it into the texture of milk.
The macaroons tasted as if I made this with condensed milk. It was overly sweet, crunchy and chewy. Very nice, but I’m not a big fan of sweet stuffs so I won’t be making this again, but for macaroon lovers this is pretty good. I used only 70% sugar and it was still pretty sweet, so I recommend using only 50% sugar.

Leave a Reply

Categories

