Posted by: Jonjon | January 10, 2009

Bread – Chocolate Apple Bread 8/10 but just a variation on a sweet bread.





Bread – Chocolate Apple Bread 8/10 but just a variation on a sweet bread.
10/01/2009


http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Chocolate-Apple-Bread/Detail.aspx

INGREDIENTS (Nutrition)
• 1-1/2 teaspoons white sugar 6g
• 1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon 0.1g
• 1 tablespoon finely chopped walnuts 8g
• 1/2 cup all-purpose flour 60g
• 1/8 teaspoon salt 0.6g
• 1/8 teaspoon baking powder 0.3g
• 1/8 teaspoon baking soda 0.2g
• 1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon 0.3g
• 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg 0.2g
• 2 tablespoons margarine, softened 30g
• 1/4 cup white sugar 50g
• 1/2 eggs
• 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract 1ml
• 1-1/2 teaspoons buttermilk 8ml
• 1/4 cup chopped apples 30g
• 2 tablespoons walnuts 10g
• 1 tablespoon semi-sweet chocolate chips 10g

DIRECTIONS
This recipe’s Ingredients were scaled to yield a new amount. The directions below still refer to the original recipe yield of 1 loaf.
1. To make the topping, in a small bowl mix the sugar, cinnamon and finely chopped walnuts. Set aside.
2. In a medium bowl combine flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Set aside.
3. In a separate large bowl cream butter and sugar. Add eggs and vanilla extract, and mix well. Gradually beat in flour mixture alternately with buttermilk. Stir in apples, walnuts, and semi-sweet chocolate chips. Pour into a greased 9x5x3 inch loaf pan. Sprinkle with topping.
4. Bake in a preheated 350 degree F (175 degree C) oven for 50 to 60 minutes. Cool for 15 minutes. Remove from pan. Cool on a wire rack.

Conclusion
This was quite fun to make. At first I thought that I had made the apple chunks a bit big, but it actually worked with big chunks and it looked nicer with chunks of apples in it too. I increased my apples by 30% which was about right, could add more. The texture of the dough was not as dry as most people who had reviewed this recipe suggested, I guess it was because I used more apple than usual. However, if I had added 30% more chocolate chips and had left my walnuts not so finely cut and in big chunks this would have been quite a good recipe for a sweet bread.
The topping was actually not that bad too, may reduce the sugar a bit on that, but when they combined together it was actually a very nice combination. I don’t think I will make this again because to me this is just a variation on a sweet bread. However, If I had made these into drop cookies, I think I will make them again because the crusts tasted quite nice. I did two variations

Variation 1
– Following the recipe with the above changes, I ended up with what I had described before
Variation 2 – This time I used wholemeal just to see what wholemeal was about. What I ended up with was a less sweet, drier loaf. It was actually, in a way a bit nicer than using all flour because there was more substance and grittiness to the texture. You also get a browner texture with wholemeal flour.

Leave a Reply

Categories

