Posted by: Jonjon | January 2, 2009

Clusters – Tropical Candy Clusters 7.8/10




Clusters – Tropical Candy Clusters 7.8/10

INGREDIENTS (Nutrition)
• 1/3 cup milk chocolate chips 55g
• 2 tablespoons and 2 teaspoons semi-sweet chocolate chips 30g
• 1/8 (14 ounce) can EAGLE BRAND® Sweetened Condensed Milk 50g
• 1/8 teaspoon salt 0.2g
• 1/4 cup chopped toasted almonds or macadamia nuts 25g
• 2 tablespoons and 2 teaspoons chopped candied pineapple 20g
• 1 tablespoon and 1 teaspoon flaked coconut 6g

DIRECTIONS
This recipe’s Ingredients were scaled to yield a new amount. The directions below still refer to the original recipe yield of 60 candy clusters.

1. Combine both chocolate chips, sweetened condensed milk and salt in 2-quart microwave-safe dish. Cook on High 3 minutes or until chips melt, stirring after each 1 1/2 minutes. Stir in almonds, pineapple and coconut.
2. Drop by heaping teaspoonfuls onto wax paper lined baking sheet. Chill 1 hour or until firm. Store leftovers covered in refrigerator

Changed
-I reduced the recipe by 80%, was just curious to see how condensed milk could be used
-By accident, I combined everything together and then put it in the microwave.
-Instead of cooking on high for 3 minutes, I only did it for 30 seconds and it was already boiling in the microwave. I think this was because I changed the proportion down by 80% so I had less ingredients = need less cooking time
-I did not toast my almonds, instead I used pecans, almonds & walnuts.
-Umm I did not have any baking chocolates so I just used some organic white and black chocolates, perhaps that explained the overly sweetness of these clusters.

Conclusion
This snack tastes better than what you could get outside. However, it was too overly sweet for me as I used normal chocolates instead of baking chocolates. There was also a bit too much condensed milk. I think the condensed milk could be reduced by 15%, or the nuts increase by 15%. I also think that adding the candied pineapples did nothing but impart a sense of dryness. This snack could taste better without the tropical element in it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

