Posted by: Jonjon | January 2, 2009

Bread Banana Banana Bread 9/10





Bread Banana Banana Bread 9/10

01/01/09

INGREDIENTS (Nutrition)
• 2/3 cup all-purpose flour 85g
• 1/4 teaspoon baking soda 2g
• 1/8 teaspoon salt 0.5g
• 2 tablespoons and 2 teaspoons butter 40g
• 1/4 cup brown sugar 35g
• 2/3 eggs, beaten
• 3/4 cup and 1 teaspoon mashed overripe bananas 175g

DIRECTIONS
This recipe’s Ingredients were scaled to yield a new amount. The directions below still refer to the original recipe yield of 1 – 9×5 inch loaf.
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease a 9×5 inch loaf pan.
2. In a large bowl, combine flour, baking soda and salt. In a separate bowl, cream together butter and brown sugar. Stir in eggs and mashed bananas until well blended. Stir banana mixture into flour mixture; stir just to moisten. Pour batter into prepared loaf pan.
3. Bake in preheated oven for 60 to 65 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into center of the loaf comes out clean. Let bread cool in pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack.

Procedure
As usual, I reduced my proportions down quite a bit. When I folded the dry and wet ingredients together, I only combined it for around 1minute and a half. The result I got was like a standard consistency, kinda moist and not hard. Next time I will try to stir it even longer and see what kind of consistency I will get

Changed
-I made a portion that was unchanged, a portion with added dates, a portion with nuts.

Learnt
My oven settings may not be accurate. I think it’s a bit too hot, so next time I will try 100 degrees C and see if I can get a better result.
With moists breads such as this, adding the nuts really made a bit of a difference. It enhanced the texture and flavor which was good. However, upon the addition of dates it did nothing.

Conclusion
There was a perfect balance between the ingredients. This was perfect, I really liked it. I liked the outside skin too which was kinda hard. Next time I will use quite a bit square tray, and make a thinner layered bread so I can get more yummy crusts.

Leave a Reply

Categories

