Posted by: Jonjon | December 29, 2008

Risotto Broccoflower® Risotto with Wild Mushrooms 9.6/10!!!







Risotto Broccoflower® Risotto with Wild Mushrooms 9.6/10!!!

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Broccoflower-Risotto-with-Wild-Mushrooms/Detail.aspx

Apparently with risotto, either use a non-stick pan or keep stiring cuz it gets stuck onto the bottom of the pot. Make sure the broth is warmed before adding to the rice.
INGREDIENTS (Nutrition)
• 1-1/2 teaspoons butter, unsalted 7g
• 1 cup Broccoflower®, diced 100g
• 1 cup assorted wild mushrooms, chopped 150g
• 1/4 white onion, chopped 4g
• 1 tablespoon garlic, minced 8g
• 1-1/2 cups Arborio rice 305g
• 4-1/2 cups chicken stock, unsalted 1 liters
• 1/2 pinch fresh ground nutmeg 0.5g
• 2 tablespoons fresh herbs; tarragon, parsley, chives, diced 4g
• 2 tablespoons Parmesan cheese 10g
• Salt and pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS
This recipe’s Ingredients were scaled to yield a new amount. The directions below still refer to the original recipe yield of 4 servings.
1. Melt butter and saute Broccoflower®, mushrooms, onions and garlic for 10 minutes.
2. Remove sauteed ingredients and place aside. In same pan, cook the rice by adding chicken stock one-cup at a time stirring until well incorporated before adding the next cup. Once chicken stock is absorbed and rice is tender, stir in nutmeg, herbs and season with salt and pepper.
3. Once rice risotto is cooked, stir in the sauteed ingredients, salt and pepper to taste.
4. Stir in Parmesan cheese before serving.

Introdution
I’ve always wondered how people cooked risottos, so I was excited to do this recipe. I have never tasted any good risottos, so I was actually expecting disappointment. I have never used vegetarian broth or chicken stock before, so I was quite interested to see how it will turn out.

Changed
-I used vegetarian broth.
-I halved the amount of everything
-I added like 12 mushrooms and one big Portobello mushroom.
-I only used like 4 broccolis, should have put 9 broccolis, the broccolis were sooooo tasty because they retained the juice of the sauce.

How I prepared it.
I followed the recipe

Problems encountered
None really

Learnt
-At first, I had a taste of the vegetable broth to see what I was dealing with. It was just water with a slightly salty taste. The first cup that I added to the Arborio rice made the rice subtly salty after it has absorbed the liquid. The interesting thing was that the Arborio rice actually becomes more and more sticky and salty the more you add the liquid in.

-I think two cups of vegetarian broth is enough. It took about 30minutes for it to absorb the water. It actually doesn’t absorb the water as the recipe says. I tried to boil the Arborio rice for a further 20minutes but it still remained as wet as before, so I guess all it ends up doing is getting softer and mushier if you cook it for long, it doesn’t actually dry out.

-The herbs and mushrooms were necessary to complete this dish.

-The parmesan cheese made everything smell nice when placed on top, but it covered the flavor with its thickness, so don’t put that in

Conclusions
Wow, the end result was amazing. After the rice has soaked up the 2 cups of vegetarian stock, there was no need to add any salt for flavoring as the rice now has a subtle taste. Not bad. Then I added the chopped herbs. I dumped it all in, and OH MY GOD, it was a perfect blend! Actually, before I put it in, I had a little bite of the herbs and god was it bad. But when it was mixed with the rice, it was a perfect marriage. Actually, after I added the vegetable mix, the mushrooms + garlic and ginger sauce fused with the herbs and the Arborio rice in a perfect triple fusion marriage!!! I couldn’t believe it, this was actually 100x better than anything I have ever tasted in restaurants. I’ve paid 30$ for a risotto in renowned restaurants and oh my god, they tasted BAD compared to this recipe. This is a keeper, definitely, and I will be making it again sometime in the future. I don’t know if there is room for variations, but I will definitely put more mushrooms and broccolis in.

References

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Broccoflower-Risotto-with-Wild-Mushrooms/Detail.aspx

Leave a Reply

Categories

