Posted by: Jonjon | December 29, 2008

Couscous – Hot Breakfast 8/10





Couscous – Hot Breakfast 8/10

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Hot-Breakfast-Couscous/Detail.aspx

Ingredients
• 1/2 cup skim milk 120ml
• 1-1/2 teaspoons honey 8ml
• 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon 2g
• 1/2 cup dry couscous 85g
• 1 tablespoon and 1 teaspoon chopped dried apricots 10g
• 1 tablespoon and 1 teaspoon raisins 15g
• 2 tablespoons slivered almonds 20g

Review
This one tastes very nice. I wasn’t sure if it was alright to combine fruits with grains, so I didn’t do that. The couscous actually tastes fine just by themselves. I have no idea why skim milk was used.

Learnt
I did two variations. One with skim milk and one with coconut milk. Not much difference really, next time I will use water to see what will happen.

It was actually quite fun preparing the couscous. I wasn’t sure if I should cook them or not at all. But the funny thing is, as soon as I put the couscous in and let it sit for 5 minutes, it soaked up all the liquid! And became cinnamony colored, and a bit chunky too. It was very fun to eat, but in terms of digestion I was not sure if it was digestible. I felt fine afterwards. However, depending on different perspectives, it may be a bit dry. Upon reading other people’s reviews, they complained about the dryness of the end-product. It is actually quite fun, though next time I will add a bit more liquid, just a bit more, just in case it dries up too much.

Leave a Reply

Categories

