Posted by: Jonjon | December 29, 2008

Bruschetta – Double Tomato 9.2/10



Bruschetta – Double Tomato 9.2/10

28/12/2008

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Double-Tomato-Bruschetta/Detail.aspx

Ingredients
• 3 roma (plum) tomatoes, chopped
• 1/4 cup sun-dried tomatoes, packed in oil 30g
• 1-1/2 cloves minced garlic
• 2 tablespoons olive oil 30ml
• 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar 15ml
• 2 tablespoons fresh basil, stems removed 5g
• 1/8 teaspoon salt 0.8g
• 1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper 0.3g
• 1/2 French baguette
• 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese 115g.

• Preheat the oven on broiler setting. I baked at 175 degrees instead of baked.

Method
• In a large bowl, combine the roma tomatoes, sun-dried tomatoes, garlic, olive oil, vinegar, basil, salt, and pepper. Allow the mixture to sit for 10 minutes.
• Cut the baguette into 3/4-inch slices. On a baking sheet, arrange the baguette slices in a single layer. Broil for 1 to 2 minutes, until slightly brown.
• Divide the tomato mixture evenly over the baguette slices. Top the slices with mozzarella cheese.
• Broil for 5 minutes, or until the cheese is melted.

Introdution

How I prepared it.
I followed the recipe. However, there were no instructions as to if I should chop the sun-dried tomatoes etc. So I just chopped the sun dried tomatoes into little squares, and the tomatoes I just cut in square chunks, which was a very good idea, because it ended up absorbing the sauce. So if I had minced everything into little pieces, then there would not be bite-sized chunks tomatoes to absorb the juicy sauce.

I changed
1. Because as I didn’t have roma tomatoes, I just regular ones and man were they juicy. I saw that there was quite a lot of tomato sauce so that would have diluted the strength of the mix. As a result I ended up adding ½ teaspoon more of basalmic vinegar and a teaspoon more of salt.

2. I didn’t want to waste my $3.50 on a French baguette, so I ended up buying a $1 packet of dinner rolls. Wooo, that was a bad idea. The dinner rolls were too soft for the base and some became soggy when the sauce was placed on top.

3. I didn’t have broil setting on my oven so I ended up baking it. I put the oven up very high on the tray holder at 172 degrees C. It took about 7 minutes to get the bread hard, and wasn’t long before it started getting soggy again after the sauce was placed on top.

4.I didn’t have mozzarella cheese so I used gouda which was equally good.

Problems encountered
1 – Bread went soggy because I used the wrong type of bread.
2- Umm, my cheese melted in like 10 seconds, so maybe I should put that in later when the bread is nearly done.

Learnt
-Basalmic vinegar mixes with tomatoes very well, and yeah, the basils really brings the flavor out. Herbs seem to become more and more fragrant the smaller they are cut, and they mix very well with the olive oil.

Variations that want to try
-Add cooked mushrooms

Conclusions
-This sauce was pretty much perfect. It was packed full of flavor. The sauce could be used as a salsa/dipping sauce in its own right. This was the best sauce that I have tried to this day, and if I had used the French baguette, it would almost be a perfect 10.
References & Reviews

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Double-Tomato-Bruschetta/Detail.aspx

Leave a Reply

Categories

