Posted by: Jonjon | December 26, 2008

Oyako Don! 8.5/10







Rice – Japanese Oyakodon 8.5/10

26/21/2008

http://japanesefood.about.com/od/ricebowl/r/oyakodon.htm

Ingredients:
• 4 cup steamed rice
• 3/4 lb chicken thighs or chicken breasts
• 1 onion
• 1 2/3 cups soup stock (dashi)
• 7 tbsp soy sauce
• 4 tbsp mirin
• 3 tbsp sugar
• 4 eggs

Preparation:
Cook steamed rice. Cut chicken into bite-size pieces and thinly slice onion. Put dashi soup stock in a pan and heat. Add soy sauce, mirin, and sugar in the soup. Put chicken in the pan and simmer on low heat for a few minutes. Add onion slices to the pan and simmer for a few more minutes. Beat eggs in a bowl. Bring the soup to a boil, then pour the eggs over chicken and onion. Turn the heat down to low and put on a lid. After one minute, turn off the heat. To serve, first put steamed rice in a deep bowl, then place the chicken and egg on top of the rice.

*Makes 4 servings

Personal Note
For dashi stock I used ½ teaspoon of dashi powder to 1 cup of water, that was about right, though to be more accurate, I think 3/5 or 4/5 of dashi to 1 cup of water is the best.

Introdution

I changed
I used a tablespoon of chives, next time will use 2.5 tablespoon of green onion.
I used 1/8 Green capsicum which was not very nice
I used 3 green beans, and they were quite nice
I used 4 mushrooms and they were quite nice, but need to be cut thicker rather than thinner
I didn’t use chicken
I changed the proportion for 2 eggs.
I added sweet corn, and it wasn’t that good or bad.

How I prepared it.
I followed the recipe.

Problems encountered
None

Learnt
-Eggs will take about 10 minutes to cook after putting it in at the end

-Chicken broth can be used to replace the dashi broth

-I can’t believe how much sugar they put into this thing. 1 tablespoon of sugar = 12.6grams. I think I used the wrong sugar, I should have used brown sugar instead of white sugar to get the taste right perhaps.

Variations that want to try
-Add more little cubed potatoes, more onions, perhaps taros too, I guess everything that absorbs water good, and add carrots and more green onions, green chives, don’t ever add the capsicums, they are horrible with this dish.
-Adding green onions is actually a good idea. For 2 eggs proportion, 2.5 tablespoon of green onions should do, addint it at the very end.

Conclusions
-This was as good as any restaurants. I realized that, I didn’t “especially” like the egg, although the egg was nice. So if it really made not much difference I think I will omit the egg next time as it’s not a very good thing to have. I was afraid that the don might turn out a bit too sweet or too salty, but it turned out just fine. 1.5 table spoon of sugar 2 eggs is what restaurants use, but I used 1 tablespoon so it was “just on the spot” and I would not add more or less next time. The potatoes really soaked up the sugary water up and they were very nice to eat, so maybe cut down on the eggs and rice and add more potatoes next time. I was just going to make a 1 egg to 0.5 cup dashi proportion but I realised that if I did that my vegetable mix would not have been wholly covered. Overall it was good, just don’t add the green capsicum next time because they will turn out bitter and horrible.

References & Reviews
http://japanesefood.about.com/od/ricebowl/r/oyakodon.htm
http://www.recipezaar.com/Oyako-don-chicken-and-egg-rice-bowl-69260
http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Oyako-Donburi/Detail.aspx

Leave a Reply

Categories

